denture·id

Freed

by Freed · getfreed.ai ↗

A popular, inexpensive AI scribe for clinicians, from $39 a month. It writes good general notes, but it was built for medicine: no perio charting, no CDT codes and no dental practice system integration.

Review

Freed review: our verdict

By the Denture-ID Research Desk · updated Sep 30, 2026 · based on vendor documentation, published pricing and public user reviews; not hands-on tested

Reviewed by Francis Brero, VP of AI Strategy & Data Science Expert · Editorial Board

Freed is one of the best-known AI scribes in medicine, and the cheapest way for a dentist to try ambient note-taking. It listens to the visit and produces a structured note, with a 7-day free trial and plans from $39 a month.

It is not a dental product. There is no tooth or perio charting, no CDT coding and no connection to dental practice software. For dentistry it is a note-writing aid, not a charting tool.

Strengths

  • Published prices: $39, $79 and $119 a month per clinician
  • 7-day free trial, no credit card required
  • HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 1 and 2 and HITECH stated; organization-wide BAA on group plans
  • Temporary audio retention, according to our data
  • Many languages supported

Watch-outs

  • Not dental-specific: no perio or tooth charting
  • Codes are ICD-10 and CPT, not CDT
  • EHR push integration is for medical systems, not dental practice software
  • Starter plan capped at 40 notes a month
  • Very few reviews from dental users

What Freed is

Freed is an AI scribe for clinicians. It records the conversation during a visit and turns it into a structured note, such as a SOAP note, using specialty templates. Higher plans add visit summaries, patient instructions, referral letters, dictation, saved phrases and ICD-10 and CPT coding, plus a push integration into medical electronic health records.

It is in our dental scribe category because dentists use it, but it is designed for medical practice.

Pricing

We read Freed's pricing on September 30, 2026.

PlanPer monthIncludes
Starter$39Up to 40 notes a month, specialty templates, live support
Core$79Unlimited notes, template builder, clinical evidence answers
Premier$119, or $104 billed annuallySummaries, patient letters and referrals, EHR push, dictation, ICD-10 and CPT coding
GroupscustomAdmin dashboard, SSO, organization-wide BAA, volume discounts

A dentist seeing more than about two patients a day will exceed Starter's 40 notes, so Core is the realistic entry point. The pricing page also showed crossed-out former prices; confirm the current rate at sign-up.

Where Freed is strong

  • Price. Among the lowest-cost scribes, with a free trial and no card.
  • Note quality for narrative documentation, according to its highly rated reviews.
  • Security statements. HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 1 and 2, HITECH.
  • Audio kept only temporarily, according to our data.
  • Languages. Many supported.

Where it falls short for dentistry

  • No dental charting. Teeth, surfaces and perio pockets are not charted.
  • Wrong code set. ICD-10 and CPT, not CDT.
  • No dental integration. Notes must be copied into Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental or other dental systems.
  • Little dental feedback. 13 reviews on G2 and 2 on Capterra in our data, across all specialties.
  • BAA on individual plans is not described on the pricing page; the organization-wide BAA is listed under group plans.

Alternatives to compare

All scribes: AI scribe ranking.

Bottom line

Freed is a sensible, low-risk way for a dentist to find out whether ambient notes suit them. If the answer is yes and you want charting and codes in your dental system, move to a dental-specific scribe. Either way, sign a BAA before recording patients.

Sources for this review (2)
  1. Freed pricing — plans, limits, trial and compliance statements
  2. Freed: how it works — product workflow

Data Index profile

510 Features 4.0/10 Integrations no data Pricing clarity 9.0/10 Support 6.0/10 Vendor stability 6.0/10 User rating 10.0/10
Table view
AxisFreedBasis
Features 4.0 2 of 5 tracked capabilities confirmed (0 unverified)
Integrations no data No integration data verified
Pricing clarity 9.0 public full, 7-day trial, 12-month minimum term
Support 6.0 3 channels
Vendor stability 6.0 51-200 staff
User rating 10.0 5.0/5 from 15 public reviews

Of the 5 axes we could measure, Freed is strongest on user rating (10.0/10) and weakest on features (4.0/10). It ranks #4 of 19 in AI scribes, 1.3 points above the category median of 5.2. We could not verify integrations yet, so those axes are left blank rather than scored.

  • Features4.0

    2 of 5 tracked capabilities confirmed (0 unverified). What this measures ⓘ

  • Integrationsno data

    No integration data verified. What this measures ⓘ

  • Pricing clarity9.0

    public full, 7-day trial, 12-month minimum term. What this measures ⓘ

  • Support6.0

    3 channels. What this measures ⓘ

  • Vendor stability6.0

    51-200 staff. What this measures ⓘ

  • User rating10.0

    5.0/5 from 15 public reviews. What this measures ⓘ

AI transparency

✓Uses AIConfirmed
?Human in the loopNot disclosed
?FDA-cleared AINot disclosed
?LLM provider disclosedNot disclosed

0 of 3 AI transparency signals disclosed. Across all AI tools we track, most vendors disclose none of them — which is why we show this panel on every AI product.

Compliance & security

✓HIPAAClaimed by vendor
?BAA availableNot verified
✓SOC 2 Type IIClaimed by vendor
?HITRUSTNot verified
?GDPRNot verified
?PIPEDA (Canada)Not verified

“Claimed by vendor” means a public statement we could cite; it is not an audit. Ask for the SOC 2 report or signed BAA before you share patient data.

AI scribe capabilities

Freed confirms 2 of 5 capabilities we track for this category. Most competitors confirm dental-specific, which we could not confirm here.

  • ✕ Dental-specific
  • ✕ Voice perio charting
  • ✓ SOAP notes
  • ✕ CDT code suggestions
  • ✓ Ambient listening
Audio retention
temporary
Languages
en, es, zh, fr, de, it, pt, ja, ko, ru, th, nl, sv, id

See how every AI scribes product compares on these features →

Pricing & 3-year cost

License model
Subscription
Price transparency
Full public pricing
Starting price
$39/mo
Free trial
7 days
3-year cost estimate
$1,404 1 location, 2 providers, 5 users
Price last checked
Sep 30, 2026
Minimum term
12 months
Auto-renew
Not verified
Cancellation notice
Not verified
Early termination fee
Not verified
Data export on exit
Not verified

The entry price of $39/mo is below the AI scribes median of $129/mo; 1 product with public pricing starts lower. Note the price is undefined, so multi-location costs scale.

PlanMonthlyYearlyOne-timeUnitIncludes
Starter$39——per-userup to 40 notes/month
Core$79——per-userunlimited notes
Premier$119——per-userEHR push integration, ICD-10 and CPT coding, $104/mo billed annually

3-year cost for your practice

Compare with others →
Starter$39/mo per-user
$1,404
Core$79/mo per-user
$2,844
Premier$119/mo per-user
$4,284

Recurring list prices × your inputs. Excludes taxes, negotiated discounts and add-ons not published by the vendor.

User ratings

5.0/5 averaged across G2 and Capterra from 15 reviews. It is the highest-rated of 6 rated products in its category.

G2
5.0/5 · 13 ↗
Capterra
5.0/5 · 2 ↗

Ratings are snapshots from third-party platforms, shown with their date and link. We do not publish them as our own review stars.

Who it’s for

Best for

  • Dentists who want AI-drafted notes at the lowest cost and will paste them into the chart
  • Oral surgeons and specialists whose notes resemble medical documentation
  • Trying an AI scribe with a 7-day free trial and no card

Not ideal for

  • Hygienists who need perio charting by voice
  • Practices that want notes written straight into Dentrix, Eaglesoft or Open Dental
  • Offices that want CDT code suggestions

Practice size

✓ Solo✓ 2–5 operatories✓ 6–15 operatories16+ operatoriesMulti-locationDSO
Specialties
—
Deployment
Cloud
Open API
?
Support
phone, chat, email

Company

Vendor
Freed
Employees
51-200

Markets

CA
UK
EU
US
MENA
APAC
LATAM
AU
NZ

Markets the vendor actively sells into: United States.

Related buyer guides

FAQ

How much does Freed cost?

Freed's pricing page listed Starter at $39 a month for up to 40 notes, Core at $79 a month with unlimited notes, and Premier at $119 a month, or $104 a month billed annually, when we read it on September 30, 2026. Group plans are priced on request. All plans have a 7-day free trial.

Is Freed good for dentists?

For writing narrative notes, yes, and it is cheap. But it is a general medical scribe. It does not chart teeth or perio, suggests medical rather than dental codes and does not integrate with dental practice management systems, so notes have to be copied into the chart.

Is Freed HIPAA compliant?

Freed states that it is HIPAA compliant, SOC 2 Type 1 and 2 certified and HITECH compliant, and offers an organization-wide BAA on group plans. Confirm how a BAA is provided on individual plans before recording patients.

How much does Freed cost?

Freed pricing starts at $39 per month (undefined), based on public pricing checked Sep 30, 2026. Our 3-year cost estimate is about $1,404 for a small practice (1 location, 2 providers, 5 users).

Is Freed HIPAA compliant?

Yes — Freed's vendor states HIPAA compliance. Always request a signed BAA before sharing PHI.

What are the best alternatives to Freed?

By our Data Index, the strongest alternatives in AI scribes are Scribeberry (6.9), Denti.AI Voice (6.6), and Gain AI (6.6).

Sources21 cited · 17 field-level citations
  1. Freed Referral Program · help.getfreed.ai · vendor docs
  2. How it Works | Freed · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  3. Get Started with Freed · help.getfreed.ai · vendor docs
  4. Frequently Asked Questions · help.getfreed.ai · vendor docs
  5. Pricing | Freed · getfreed.ai · pricing page
  6. Features | Freed · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  7. Navigating Freed · help.getfreed.ai · vendor docs
  8. Getting Your Clinic Started with Freed · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  9. Freed AI Scribe Assistant on the App Store · apps.apple.com · review platform
  10. Clinicians | Freed · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  11. Freed AI Scribe · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  12. Freed AI: Overview | LinkedIn · linkedin.com · vendor site
  13. Best AI Scribes for Healthcare - Freed AI Scribe · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  14. What Are AI Scribes? How They Improve Clinical Documentation · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  15. Ambient Dictation: The Future of Medical Scribing - Freed AI Scribe · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  16. Ambient Scribes: The Game-Changer in Healthcare Documentation · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  17. FAQ: AI Scribes and Patient Trust - Freed AI Scribe · getfreed.ai · vendor docs
  18. How Freed Handles Data Privacy & Compliance - Freed AI Scribe · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  19. HIPAA Compliance in AI Scribes: A Comprehensive Guide - Freed AI Scribe · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  20. AI Scribe for Multilingual Visits - Freed · getfreed.ai · vendor site
  21. Freed pricing · getfreed.ai · pricing page

Spotted something outdated? Report a correction.